Professor Patricia Peattie OBE Awarded Honorary Doctorate



Professor Patricia Peattie OBE receives her Honorary Doctorate


On the 5th. of July 2018, the University of the West of Scotland awarded Professor Patricia Peattie OBE, the first chairwoman of Lothian Hospitals NHS Trust, with an Honorary Doctorate at its graduation ceremony at Paisley Abbey.

Professor Patricia Peattie, who was awarded an OBE in 2006 for services to education and to health in Scotland, is the former Assistant Principal of Napier University.

Professor Peattie, who retired in 2005, has had a distinguished and successful career in health and academia and is a long-term external member of the UWS Ethics Committee. In 2016 she was made a Companion of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh – their highest award.

Professor Peattie is hugely respected in her field, with decades of experience underpinning the practical skills and knowledge gained across a spectrum of roles. She is the Vice-Chair of the Lay Advisory Group of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh and was the Chair of the UK and Ireland Academy Lay Advisory Group in which capacity, in 2014, she was part of the task force looking into the impact of the European Time Directive. She has been Vice Chair of Council, St George’s School for Girls, Director and Chair of the Eric Liddle Centre and is currently Chair of the Scottish Colleges Foundation.

Commenting on her Honorary Doctorate Professor Peattie, who is Chair of the MREC (Multi-Centre Research Ethics Committee) for 10 years, said:

“I am deeply honoured by this Award. It has been a great privilege working with many colleagues in the University in support of its development as a major player in the Scottish Higher Education sector, especially in relation to its research and ethics governance.”

Professor Craig Mahoney, Principal & Vice-Chancellor of the University of the West of Scotland, said:

“We are absolutely delighted to have awarded Patricia, who has made such an important contribution to education and health in Scotland, with an Honorary Degree. She has had a very distinguished career and is therefore a hugely deserving recipient of this award.”